India-National Flag


India’s National flag is a horizontal Tricolor (Tiranga in Hindi) with equal portions of three colors.
At the top – Deep Saffron (Kesari) represents courage and sacrifice.
Middle – White represents peace, nobility & truth
Bottom – Dark Green represents prosperity

In the center of the white band is a navy blue wheel (Ashok chakra) with 24 spoke, which indicates righteousness & life in movement. The constituent assembly of India adopted this design of National flag on 22nd July, 1947. The ratio of the width to length is 2:3.

Indian flag, by law is to be made of ‘Khadi”, a special type of hand spun cotton cloth. Karnataka Khadi Gramodyog, Samyukta Sangha is the only center that manufactures Indian flag.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s