India-National Emblem

national emblem'

Satya Meva Jayate ( Truth Alone Triumphs)
The National emblem is an adaptation from Sarnath , the lion capital of Ashoka.
In the original, there are four lions standing back to back, representing, power, courage, pride & confidence. These lions are mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures of an elephant, a horse, a bull & a lion separated by intervening wheels-over a bell shaped lotus. Carved out of a single block of a polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the wheel of the Law(Dharma Chakar) The words ‘Satya Meva Jayate’ are from Mundaka Upanishada are inscribed below the abacus in the Devanagari script.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s