India-National Anthem

On January 24th, 1950, the song ‘Jana Gana Mana’ was adopted as the Indian National Anthem. It’s composed by Rabindranath Tagore.  The orginal song which was first sung on Dec, 27, 1911 at the Calcutta session of Indian National Congress had five stanzas. National Anthem is only the first stanza of the original song.

“Jana-gana-mana-adhinayaka, jaya he
Tava shubha name jage
Tava shubha ashisha maange
Gaye tava jaya-gatha
Jana-gana-mangala-dayaka jaya he
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he
Jaya jaya jaya, jaya he.” 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s