Helen Keller

Helen Adams Keller was an American author, activist & lecturer.
She was a great inspiration to the disabled all over the world.
               Helen was born as a normal child but she became ill while she was still a baby. The illness caused her to lose her hearing & sight but it also affected the development of her speech.  With this Helen was shut off from the rest of the world.
               “Once I knew only darkness and stillness… my life was without past or future… but a little word from the fingers of another fell into my hand that clutched at emptiness, and my heart leaped to the rapture of living. “
 An amazing & remarkable teacher named ‘Anne Sullivan’, who was nearly blind as a child, gave private tuitions to Helen. Anne taught Helen through touch, she spelled out letters on Helen’s hand. Slowly Helen started spelling words. At the age of ten, she began to learn to speak. At the age of sixteen Helen could speak pretty well. She went to college & became the first blind-deaf person to graduate from the college. 
               “I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.”
 She worked to help other people who were blind. She taught them how to overcome their physical disabilities and lead full & active lives. She gave speeches, raised lots of money for handicapped people. She wrote many books but the most inspiring is “The story of my life”. She received many honours & became a hero to people all over the world.

 

This entry was posted in Great Personalities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

